The Night Circus: L’Endroit de Rêveurs

circus
“The circus arrives without warning” is how Erin Morgenstern begins her enchanting tale of magicians, a contortionist, a timeless clock-maker, a man without a shadow, and a very lovely circus, in a book that feels as if magic itself crafted the mysterious words beneath every page. Senses come alive with smells of caramel apples and bonfires which permeate the reader’s endeavors: black and white and red repeated colors illustrate what a circus should be. Not too dark, not too light: with deep passion and excitement. Torn between emotions from smiling to sorrow, I remained charmed by the wondrous imagery that painted out scenes of midnight banquets–where I could taste the exotic food–and ballroom encounters, as well as fierce foreshadowing like feathers of a raven, pulling you into a winding labyrinth of beauty. The characters take you along with them into their circus life; people die sudden deaths and children are born. Never before have I read such a modern and fresh fairytale like this one, filled with such warm description that I wanted to be in every scene of the story; I wanted this dream of an adventure to be physically in front of me when, at the same time, I knew what it was to experience it. Any one who chooses to pick up this beautifully covered fable will be held captive by soft darkness so divine it emanates bright sparks of riveting pleasure so masterfully written, with suspense and compelling marvel, it’s my conclusion that only a brilliant magician and kindred dreamer could have created such a bitter-sweet dream brought to life.

“We are such stuff as dreams are made on; and our little life is rounded with a sleep.”–Prospero, The Tempest

10 thoughts on “The Night Circus: L’Endroit de Rêveurs

  1. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    I love this book. It is one of my best books read in 2013.

  2. I’ve been wanting to read this for so long!

  3. Loved this book — I listened to the audiobook version and it a fantastic performance of some really amazing material. I’d love to see a graphic novel adaptation of it; I think there’s some very visual material there to work with.

  4. setinmotion says:

    I read this book about a year ago and was completely enchanted by it. While I am starting to forget the entire storyline, I just remember being amazed by the descriptions and so wanting the Night Circus to be real. I don’t think that has happened since I first read the Harry Potter series, oh if only magic were real.

  5. I loved this book too! I was equally enthralled by the story and by the beautiful imagery throughout. It’s a book that has tayed with me long after I closed it for the last time. Something really cool about Night Circus is that the author wrote the first draft during the NaNoWriMo challenge – imagine getting the bones of that book onto paper in 30 days!

    • eservey26 says:

      Wow! That’s really cool! I had no idea. It makes me more inspired by the author. Imagine, if she wrote the backbone of this (a masterpiece in my mine) in thirty days, what you or I could accomplish with the same dedication.

  6. camgirl26 says:

    🙂 I knew this would be coming. This is exactly your kind of book. I like your forshadowing alliteration and metaphor sentance a lot!

    • eservey26 says:

      🙂 It is absolutely my kind of book! I admire Morgenstern for her imagination.Thanks I had loads of fun writing it and reminiscing on my reading experience.

Leave a Reply

